Improve Your Leadership Skills with LiA

A guest blog by Hilary Adams, Alpha Zeta Chapter

Leadership can be defined in many different ways, but there is not a doubt that everyone could use some form of it. Whether you are a natural born leader or a learned leader, you will always need to improve your leadership skills. Phi Sigma Pi has provided a way for me and other Brothers to improve leadership skills and it has helped me become a better leader for my Chapter. All this was through Leadership in Action. Leadership in Action is meant to help Brothers become better leaders in not only their Chapters, but also in school and their careers.

I attended my first Leadership in Action Module at the Regional Conference hosted by my chapter, Alpha Zeta, in the spring of 2011 at York College of Pennsylvania. I really enjoyed what I learned there and I wanted other Brothers in my chapter to have the opportunity to participate in LiA. At the 2011 National Convention I attended the Local Facilitator’s Training with another Brother, Whitney Marks. After becoming certified we wanted to help our Brothers become better leaders by teaching as many modules as possible.

With Whitney being one of my best friends, it was awesome for the two of us to co-facilitate modules to our Chapter. Overall I have taught 6 modules, with 5 of them being to the Alpha Zeta Chapter. One of the best opportunities I have had with LiA was when Whitney and I went to Beta Eta at Lock Haven University in Pennsylvania. Being the only Certified Local Facilitators in the Central PA Region, we were able to share LiA with their Chapter. It was a great experience to meet new Brothers at another Chapter and our road trip there was interesting to say the least. An experience like that is one that not many Brothers are able to enjoy.

Leadership in Action has helped me become a better leader and show not only my Chapter, but also potential employers my leadership skills. Through teaching the modules, I am now certified in Leadership in Action after reaching my required 85 points. I am excited to teach more local modules to my Chapter and that another Brother will be getting certified at this year’s National Convention. Our Brothers have really enjoyed the Leadership in Action modules, which has brought our Chapter to number 1 on the Top 25 list for Chapter participation in LiA. I am excited for what is to come as new modules are released. I hope everyone takes advantage of this awesome program.

Leave a Reply

