A World Record!

They’re Back!

On Monday, December 15, 2014 at 1:42 pm Phi Sigma Pi Alumna Jessica Fain (Epsilon Xi Chapter ‘11) and another Roane State Community College professor Bruce Cantrell went into the world record books for living under the sea at Jules Undersea Lodge for 73 days, 2 hours and 12 minutes!

The goal of the adventure was, of course, to break a world record but to also teach middle and high school students about science. They did just that by hosting weekly live broadcasts on YouTube that you can see on the Classroom Under the Sea website. There’s even lesson plans for you teachers out there! (Read our first blog post on Jessica Fain’s adventure here.)

We needed to know!Jessica Fain (Epsilon Xi Chapter ‘11)

How did it feel to break a world record?

It is a surreal feeling knowing that you have broken a world record.  I am very proud of my accomplishments and I hope that this will inspire future generations.

What was the first thing you wanted to do when you got out of the water?

Since we came out of the water right before Christmas I was really excited to come home and decorate and go shopping. Since we had to take safety precautions and I wasn’t allowed to fly home immediately my Christmas plans were temporarily put on hold so I settled for a manicure and pedicure.

What was your favorite thing about living Under the Sea?

I really enjoyed my whole experience living underwater.  I became accustomed to looking out my window and seeing fish swim by or randomly seeing animals on my window.  There were a few manatees that came into the lagoon and Bruce and I were fortunate enough to be able to dive with them. I also really enjoyed meeting all the people that we hosted while underwater. Everyone we met was very supportive of our mission. They had great stories to share with us about their experiences in the water and everyone shared this common love of the water.

Are you a Phi Sigma Pi Member doing something awesome? Email socialmedia@phisigmapi.org to be featured on the Phi Sigma Pi blog!

Leave a Reply

