HOBY Alumni Spotlight #1

Phi Sigma Pi has a lot in common with HOBY, including Members! We want you to hear straight from them about why our organizations are so important to their lives.HOBY

Up first is Taylor Ray. She’s currently a student at Slippery Rock University (Mu Chapter) with plans to graduate in December 2017. She’s also a HOBY Alumna. We asked her a few questions about her experience with both organizations and why she’s excited for the partnership.


Taylor Ray and her group (1P) at the 2012 Central PA HOBY Seminar

Taylor Ray and her group (1P) at the 2012 Central PA HOBY Seminar

What HOBY programs have you participated in and when?
I attended 2012 Central Pennsylvania HOBY Seminar at Millersville University.

Have you volunteered for HOBY?
I haven’t volunteered for HOBY, but that year of my seminar I took home with me the experience of Rachel’s Challenge and helped launch our own program at my high school. It involved a seminar, mural painting and positive peer group work throughout the school year.

Describe your HOBY experience. 
Group 1P (represent!) has formed some of the closest friendships I still hold nearly half a decade later. We all keep tabs on each other. I’m happy to call two military service men, a chef, a princess and three studious young women influences on how I continued to grow into the person I am today. I still find myself cheering “Outstanding” whenever I need a little pick me up and I know the high school sophomore version of me would be proud of the hardworking person I’ve become.

How do you think HOBY and Phi Sigma Pi are alike?
The people involved on both sides are meant to be together. HOBY and Phi Sigma Pi brings out the outgoing and dedicated personalities in its members. Our Tripod and HOBY’s mission are one in the same: fellowship to last a lifetime, leadership to improve the well-being of yourself and peers and scholarship to always continue learning and sharing knowledge.

Why are you excited for HOBY to be Phi Sigma Pi’s new National Philanthropy?
The time span of high school and college are very brief in the length of a lifetime, but the impact from HOBY resounded to years later once I joined Phi Sigma Pi. I carry the Tripod and my mission closely. The connections Phi Sigma Pi has made with HOBY will change a high schooler’s life because they shall know once they reach university, Phi Sigma Pi will be their next step after HOBY. Phi Sigma Pi and HOBY making ties with one another has made me even more proud to call myself a HOBY Alumni and a Brother of Phi Sigma Pi.

Are you a HOBY Alum and Phi Sigma Pi Member? Let us know at socialmedia@phisigmapi.org


Leadership in Action

Phi Sigma Pi is teaming up with our National Philanthropy HOBY to bring you a Leadership in Action Lunch & Learn Webinar about leadership. Join us on February 3rd at Noon (EST) to learn about the Social Change Model of Leadership. Members will earn 8 points for participating. RSVP HERE

After participating in this webinar you will increase your knowledge of:

  • The Social Change Model of Leadership and how it can be applied
  • The 7 C’s of Leadership and the ultimate 8th C, Change

2 comments

  1. […] Youth Leadership (HOBY), our National Philanthropy. I’ve read the blogs, explored the website and heard a lot from our Members that are also HOBY Alumni. However, I do not think I fully understood the magic of the organization until I attended the HOBY […]

Leave a Reply

