HOBY Alumni Spotlight #7

HOBY and PSP Logos

Phi Sigma Pi has a lot in common with HOBY, including Members! We want you to hear straight from them about why our organizations are so important to their lives.

Meet Jen Rudolph. She’s a HOBY Alumna and an Alumna of our Gamma Pi Chapter at Towson University in Maryland. She is also a Member of one of our Alumni Chapters, the Baltimore Metro Area Alumni Chapter. We asked her a few questions about her experience with both organizations and why she’s excited for the partnership.


What HOBY programs have you participated in and when?

HOBY was my first foray into expanding my own leadership outside of my high school. I attended their weekend-long state seminar in Emmitsburg, MD on Memorial Day weekend when I was a sophomore in high school. I’m still grateful to the two HOBY Alumni from my high school who chose me to be our delegate that year.

Have you volunteered for HOBY?

Unfortunately, I have not volunteered for HOBY. With the partnership being created between HOBY and Phi Sigma Pi, I hope to volunteer in the future!

Describe your HOBY experience. What have you learned, how have you grown, what did you take away from your HOBY participation and how have you used this in your life?

My HOBY experience can be summed up in one word: overwhelming. It was the first time I had been away from home, so that was a little daunting. But my nervousness quickly dissipated as I was brought into the HOBY atmosphere and welcomed as a future leader. I had never seen so many like-minded peers in one place. I remember being so tired when I got home, but so energized at the same time. HOBY taught me that I could be a global leader by doing things for my community and my own local causes. I would never – never! – be where I am today, with the experiences I’ve had, had it not been for HOBY encouraging me and telling me I have the power to make a difference in the world.

How do you think HOBY and Phi Sigma Pi are alike?

HOBY pushed me to be more involved with high school leadership, and by senior year, I was President of student government. That leadership experience pushed me to find leadership outlets in college – Phi Sigma Pi definitely fit the bill. Both HOBY and PSP encourage students to find something in themselves, such as service, leadership, fellowship and compassion for their fellow humans, and use it in their everyday lives. This, in turn, makes their lives and the lives of those around them better.

Why are you excited for HOBY to be Phi Sigma Pi’s new National Philanthropy?

I’m so excited for Phi Sigma Pi and HOBY’s new philanthropic partnership. Both changed my life; both pushed me to be the best version of myself. I’m excited because I think it will be a mutually beneficial relationship, one that will potentially give students the great leadership journey I had throughout high school, college and beyond.

What is one thing about HOBY our Members should know?

Going to a private school afforded me a lot of opportunities, but HOBY gave me the opportunity to do one thing my high school rarely gave me the opportunity to do: hang out with like-minded students from both public and private schools in my state. It was eye-opening and I did not have the opportunity to experience that diverse of a student population until I went to public university. HOBY is immensely diverse, and gives kids a chance to have the same growth opportunities, no matter their background.

Are you a HOBY Alum and Phi Sigma Pi Member? Let us know at socialmedia@phisigmapi.org

One comment

  1. […] Jen Rudolph (Gamma Pi Chapter)- Seminar Attendee […]

Leave a Reply

